How to Work at A Bakery and Not Get Fat

I’ve been working at the bakery for about two weeks now and it has been interesting to find that I’m already losing my insane cravings for cupcakes and sugary delicious treats. I thought it might be a challenge going from constantly wanting to bake for my friends and family and snacking along the way to making bulk orders of mini cupcakes and not getting to try any unless there were extra. Surprisingly, after about the second day of working, I am starting to feel nothing when I smell delicious batter being baked into cupcakes in the over. Frosting in large amounts getting spatulaed into a piping bag at best just grosses me out.

Honestly, this is probably the best thing that could have happened to me.

I have finally solved the dilemma of getting to bake awesome all the time and not having to eat it. We usually bake enough items to have a few extras in case anything catastrophic happens…. so I can have a cupcake or cake pop if I want to, but that’s an option, not a challenge.

This post is not just about baking and making everyone who reads it start fixating on cupcakes, however. Recently, I have made a push towards avoiding processed foods and leaning towards the “eating clean” movement. I like the idea that food should be consumed in the state it is grown in.. Corn is delicious when you eat an ear of it, but when it is processed into high fructose corn syrup, not so much. I don’t claim to be an expert in any of this, nor have I done much research, but there’s a reason you never see fresh fruits and vegetables on the “Don’t Eat This, For Goodness Sake!” lists.

My lunch this afternoon weighed in at a whopping 270 calories, and I got to eat all of this
ImageThe most amusing part of this is that 70 calories, almost one-third of the calories came from the slice of Swiss cheese I used on top of the portobello mushroom. I use an iPhone app called My Fitness Pal (http://www.myfitnesspal.com/) that helps me track and input all of the food I eat and the exercise I do during the day. More on that later, but if you’re looking to cut down on mindless snacking, monitor portions, or just learn a little bit more about what exactly you’re eating, I’d recommend it.

I put some tomato sauce on top, then added a tiny amount of crumbled feta cheese on top of the mushroom, laid a slice of Swiss cheese down and baked it in the oven at 350 for about 6 minutes. The best thing about this is that I got to pull my yummy, healthy lunch out of the oven at the same time I took the cakes I was baking to turn into cake pops out. A cake pop I can try later and not feel bad about because I didn’t have a bunch of awful junk for lunch!

Hummus is another really filling and delicious thing to add to lunch, low in calories and tastes delicious when dipped with carrots, tomatoes and celery! I had to portion out the berries into a bowl because I have a tendency to eat an entire pint of raspberries in one sitting. I guess it’s better than eating an entire box of chips or cookies in one sitting though!

More later, I’ll share some photos of the cake pops I made 🙂

2 responses to “How to Work at A Bakery and Not Get Fat

Leave a Reply

