required reading

Now that I am out of college, I find that I have a ton of time to read for myself. After four years of reading 100+ page sociological studies and even duller stuff for my gen eds, I am happy to say that I have plenty of time to enjoy reading both books and eBooks on my Kindle. I recently started using GoodReads which is like Pandora for books. After you review about 20 books you’ve already read, the website calibrates books you should read. I read a bunch of different genres; some of my favorite books are John Grisham novels, but I’m also a huge fan of Jen Lancaster and summer beach reads. You can add books to your shelves, whether you own and have read them, or just stick books on a shelf to consider reading. This is especially great for me because I tend to misplace post its and wherever else I write down books I want to read. Here’s a few picks:

A son and a mother take a unique journey together after she is diagnosed with a rare form of hepatitis. The two spend almost two years reading the same books and having memorable conversations with each other, ranging from deep discussions to helping cope with the mother’s disease. Not only does this sound like a great read, but in itself is a list of other books to consider reading.

I saw this book in a recent issue of Oprah’s magazine and added it to my Kindle queue right away. While I know it’s not good to judge a book by its cover, I thought that it had such an interesting cover that I couldn’t not. The story is about divorced parents and their only daughter who is about to go off to college. A traumatic event happens to the daughter and her parents come together to help her get through it, and learn a lot about each other in the process. This was a really easy read, perfect for a snowy afternoon.

I’m not really one for science fiction and the extent of fantasy-type novels I have read are Harry Potter and the Hunger Games, but something about this book really interested me. My dad read it last month and was telling me about how much he enjoyed it; the setting is post-humanity, those who are still around exist on a role playing video game, almost like the Sims. This all sounded rather odd to me as my dad was describing it, but he said it really transcended a lot of genres and was almost like an adventure love-story as well. I am my dad’s movie buddy, and as this is being made into a movie, I’m sure he’d love to go see it, so I figured I would give it a read!

I am currently #971 of 1,092 people on the wait list for this book, so this is more on my “somewhere in the distant future, I’ll read this” list than it is my winter list.  Part of the book’s description on Amazon: “On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer? “

Any other suggestions, or are you reading any of these yourself? Let me know 🙂

denise

One response to “required reading

  1. Hi sister! I just noticed you commented on my “Life as an LC” post in December, and I’m so sorry I never answered! The email must have gotten lost in the shuffle, but I just wanted to say thanks for stopping by. Also, I just read Gone Girl over winter break, and it is SO worth the wait. I love Goodreads! We should be friends. 🙂

    P.S. – Were you in the chapter with Eryn? I love her so much! I’m actually getting to help her at a colony this month, which will be super exciting.

    P.P.S. – Sorry for the novel-length comment, but I love finding ADPi bloggers! I’m adding your blog to my Google Reader now. Pi love!

Leave a Reply

